Baptism By Fire

The wonderful Kathy Bryson invited me to write a guest post for her blog today. If you’re struggling to “love” your fiction characters, stop by–these character development tips may give you some food for thought…

kathybryson

Kyra_JacobsLast month, I read Flirting With Fire by Kyra Jacobs. What I particularly liked about it was that the heroine didn’t start off as the resolute woman that she ended as. She grew and changed as a person as the story progressed. This is a very hard thing to write as you want characters to be appealing, but they may well start off as flawed, so I asked Kyra to share her insights on character development:

Thank you, Kathy, for inviting me to be a guest on your blog this month. Today I’d like to share some of my insights on character development. Now, I’ll be the first to admit I’m no expert on the subject—far from it! But with each book I write, the concept of character development gets a bit easier. Hopefully today, this post will help make it easier for you, too.

Goal. Motivation. Conflict.

If you’re…

View original post 1,083 more words

